Bread, you were always my enemy…

Stromboli Day

A little Spice

 

In the past I had never tried making bread it never crossed my mind I never enjoyed eating the stuff so I wasn’t missing out on much.

I decided I needed to become a more rounded baker so my first attempt at the standard loaf started and ended terribly about a year ago and it put me off. I hate disaster in the kitchen especially when it ends with something that is so inedible.

I do enjoy watching cooking shows on TV and have always been jealous when I saw the GBBO contestants with such beautiful bakes and Bread was the major thing I couldn’t cook so I decided to give it another go and tried a new approach and remembered Jo from Jo’s Blue Aga, her recipe for Stromboli which Paul quickly dismissed on the GBBO!

But it was such an easy recipe to follow I had faith in Jo’s teaching’s.

The Bread was fab, straight out of the oven, the next day for lunch and later on toasted with a bit of melted butter.

I even changed it up slightly when making again to make it a little spicy (as I do love a bit of spice in my life).

You don’t always have to follow the recipes exactly, I do however try to the first time I make something just so I know what it is supposed to turn out like.

Mexicana Stromboli

(Adapted from Jo Wheatley’s A Passion For Baking Recipe)

Ingredients

1 Jar of Roasted Peppers

3 tsp Chipotle Paste

1 tsp Dried Oregano (As I couldnt find fresh in my supermarket)

12Oz (340g) Strong Bread Flour, plus extra for kneading

7g easy-blend yeast

1tsp caster sugar

1tsp salt

200ml Warm water

100g sun-dried tomatoes

2.5Oz (75g) Mozzarella

2.5Oz (75g) Mexican Cheese (cheese with chili etc in)

I also used a little Tabasco

The first time I made this I also included Parma Ham it was lovely too!

Paprika to dust

 

Way to make….

1) Drain Peppers & Tomatoes (Saving the oil)

2) Combine Flour, Yeast, Sugar and Salt into a mixing bowl and make a well in the centre. Add 2tbsp of the saved oil into the flour, then slowly add the water and mix until you have a soft dough. Knead this dough for 10 minutes (I dont have a mixer so all my baking is done freehand). The dough should be smooth and elastic. This then needs to be placed into an oiled bowl (to stop it sticking) Cover with clingfilm and leave in a warm place for an hour or until it is doubled in size.

3) Once doubled in size turn out onto a floured surface and knead for 1 minute to knock back then roll out to about 40x20cm, a large rectangle.

4) Brush with a little oil then arrange your filling on top, don’t be stingy as it can hold a lot of filling once cooked.

5) Fold the shorter ends of the rectangle over and roll up, like a Swiss roll.  Place on a tray, seam side down.  Cover with oiled clingfilm. and leave to prove for a further hour until it has again doubled in size.

6) Preheat the oven to 220C. Brush with oil and sprinkle paprika . Bake in the middle of the oven for 30 minutes until golden. Turn down the temperature to 200C after 10 minutes.

7) Cool and enjoy!

stromboli

 

 

 

This entry was published on April 23, 2014 at 7:37 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

