Turns out I’m not just a One Hit Wonder!

I have had yet another success in the bread room department. ouch terrible I know.


It turns out normal bread I may not be great with but enriched doughs I’ve got down.

Yesterday I made Challah more or less a basic bread with Eggs and a little butter only a small amount but enough to make it taste wonderful.

I was supposed to be having a quite weekend to relax and catch up on sleep. But as someone who struggles to sit still for five minutes this was difficult. As I was avoiding rushing to the shops for obscure ingredients I rummaged in the cupboard to find something that I could make without literally having to leave the kitchen.

I found Challah to be what I was looking for at this moment in time.  This time the recipe is from the Fabulous Tom and Henry Herbert, ‘The Fabulous Baker Brothers’ Book.

Challah

1.3lb Strong White Flour

1/4Oz Sea Salt

1/4Oz Dried Yeast

270ml Warm Water

1Oz Caster Sugar

1.75Oz Butter

2 Eggs (keep 1 Yolk Separate for glazing)

Poppy Seeds (I didn’t have these so left them out)

Get on the Bread Wagon….

1) Weigh all the ingredients into a bowl and mix for 10 minutes. turn out onto surface and knead for 15 minutes, it should become smooth and elastic. Place back in the bowl, cover with cling film and leave in a warm place to double in size, about an hour.

2) Ease the dough out of the bowl and divide into 3. Roll out into 3 tapered sausages. The braid them together (next time I think I will try something more elaborate).

3) Place the loaf on a high sided roasting tin.  Glaze with the egg yolk (add the Poppy Seeds now if you want). Cover with clingfilm and leave in a warm place to prove. It should double in size.

4) Preheat the oven to 210C. Remove the clingfilm, then bake for about 30 minutes until golden.

5) Remove from the oven and leave to cool.

Now the Boys say to use a baking stone, which I did not have, so left it to bake in the tin which didn’t turn out too badly if I do say so myself. 

challahThis has to be one of the nicest breads I have eaten, fresh with a bit of apricot jam. And that is saying something I’ve never been one to eat bread and jam before!

My relaxing day turned into 10 hours in the kitchen, I think I have little problem. 

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on April 24, 2014 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

